Washington State law requires assessors to appraise property at 100% of its “true and fair market value” in money according to the “highest and best use” of the property. The Assessor also sets the levy rates based on taxing district budget requests, statutory limits, and property values. Note: Market sales, assessed value history, and tax history are available on our website.
Show All Answers
View the important dates page.
Taxable personal property includes (but is not limited to): office machinery, and equipment as well as supplies, and materials which are not held for sale or do not become an ingredient or component of an article being produced for sale. Also assessable as personal property are: furniture, fixtures and equipment in commercial use; leased equipment, certain leasehold improvements, manufacturing machinery, and equipment; agricultural machinery and equipment, contractor's, sawmill and logging machinery, and equipment.
Annually. Personal property listings, which list taxable property by category, cost, and the acquisition dates are filed with the Assessor’s office each year by the taxpayer and are due by April 30. The affidavits are used by the Assessor to value property for taxes due in the following year. Visit personal property forms to find out more about personal property and to download forms.
The senior citizen or disabled person exemption program is available. If you own and occupy a residence or mobile home and were 61 or older by December 31, 2012 or are retired because of disability you may qualify for an exemption or a reduction of your 2013 property tax. The total combined, gross household income limit (including social security and / or disability payments) for the program is $35,000 or less. For determining eligibility we must use your total combined income, which is your income from any source, less veterans’ disability, survivors’ dependency, or indemnity compensation. This is not the same as the “taxable income” used for federal income tax purposes.
Property Tax Exemptions
Also available is a senior citizen or disabled persons tax deferral program. To qualify you must be 60 years of age or disabled from working, with a gross income less than $40,000. The State of Washington will pay your property taxes. This must be re-paid upon the transfer of ownership, if the property is no longer your primary residence, or upon death of the applicant. A lien is placed on the property.
Property taxes in Washington State are budget based. Each individual taxing district, such as cities, county, schools, fire, library, ports, etc., decides how much money to levy or budget each year for their regular levies, voter approved levies or both. Regular levies are limited to a 1% increase annually without going to a vote of the people. There are several different limits on how levies can increase. For detailed information on levies view our levy presentation. Your share of the tax is determined by a simple formula:
Yes. If you do not agree with the value set by the assessor, you can file a petition for a hearing before the Snohomish County Board of Equalization (BOE). The petition must be filed with the BOE within 60 days of when the value notice was mailed or by July 1 whichever is later. The appeal process does not require an attorney, but you will need to present evidence that the assessor’s value is incorrect. Appeal forms are available from the clerk of the board at 425-388-3407 or online.
Information on how much you will pay in property taxes won’t be available until the taxing districts adopt their budgets at the end of the year and any voter approved taxes are added or dropped in 2022. In early 2023 levy rates will be calculated and tax statements will be available. New tax amounts are usually available from the County Treasurer’s office in February of each year. Please visit us at: www.snohomishcountywa.gov/AssessorAnnualReports for detailed information regarding tax rates and distributions.
Last year, 4 of 5 ballot measures were approved by voters. Your assessed value determines your share of the taxes to be collected which are: voter approved taxes, typically for 34% to 39% of your tax bill and / or the amount levied each year by each individual taxing district allowed by law without going to a vote of the people.
Sales that occur in 2021 will be used to set the January 1st, 2022 assessments which will be used to calculate taxes due in 2023. Washington State law requires assessors to assess property according to the property tax calendar. This law applies whether the real estate market is increasing or decreasing. The following calendar of events helps explain this lag:
New assessment notices will be mailed in June & Sept. 2022 after revaluation & new construction are complete.
After notices are mailed, property owners have 60 days to appeal their value with the Board of Equalization.
Taxing districts receive their certified assessed values in October or November and set their budgets in November 2022 for taxes due in 2023. They may or may not also ask voters to approve ballot measures in 2022 that will affect taxes due in 2023.
Levies are calculated in January 2023 using the January 1st 2022 certified assessed values for revaluation and the July 31st, 2022 certified values for new construction. Tax statements will be mailed by the Treasurer in February 2023 for taxes due in April and October 2023.
View the owner, taxpayer and address changes page for information.
View the forms, publications, and reports page.
Yes. View the assessor’s raw data online.