Submitting the online marriage application is the first step toward completing your marriage licensing process. The next step is for both parties to come in person to one of our locations with a valid photo ID and $70 to finalize the application process.
Show All Answers
If you need a certified copy immediately following your ceremony, you should return in person to the Snohomish County Customer Service Center with the completed Certificate of Marriage. For more information visit how to order certified copies of marriage records.
There is no legal requirement for either party in a marriage to change their name once married. If you do decide to assume a new last name, you must take a certified copy of your marriage license to notify the necessary agencies individually. Click here to view a list of agencies to consider changing or updating your name with.
Your ceremony can be performed by anyone who meets the criteria for wedding officiants described in Washington state law. See our Marriage page for more information.
Yes. Individuals who perform marriages do not have to reside in Washington State.
You can use your marriage license to hold a ceremony anywhere in Washington State. It cannot, however, be used in another state or country.
The fee for a marriage license is $70.00. See our Marriage page for more information.
Although state law does not specify the age of witnesses, a witness is usually deemed "competent" for this purpose by the age of 18. We recommend two witnesses who are over 18 observe the exchange of vows (marriage) and sign the marriage certificate.
No. There is no requirement to provide a divorce decree in order to obtain a marriage license.
Yes, with one major exception. Participants in the state’s Address Confidentiality Program may have their marriage records excluded from the public filing. If the marriage license was obtained prior to becoming an active participant, the record cannot be removed from the public record.