Broadband Action Team (BAT)

Expanding broadband access for residents and businesses in Snohomish County has been and continues to be a high priority. The COVID-19 pandemic has highlighted just how dependent we are on reliable, high speed internet and how large the service gaps are among our residents and businesses. The effort to expand broadband access took a large step forward in March, 2021 with the inaugural meeting of the Snohomish County Broadband Action Team (BAT).   

The BAT is a collaboration of stakeholders in our community focused on identifying the need for broadband expansion, raising the awareness of the need, and developing strategies for addressing the need. Executive Dave Somers, Councilmember Nate Nehring, and Councilmember Sam Low have brought these stakeholders together to form the BAT. The stakeholders involved include community leaders from education, healthcare, business, first responders, local government, and providers. 


Take the Broadband Speed Survey Here

SR 530 Expansion Project

Snohomish County recently received a grant from the Washington State Broadband Office (WSBO) to expand broadband access along the SR 530 corridor between Arlington and Darrington. The project is a partnership between Snohomish County and Ziply Fiber.

The $16.7 million grant will fund expansion of Ziply’s broadband infrastructure to over 5,500 homes and businesses between Arlington and Darrington. The conditions of the grant require that the expansion be completed by December of 2024.

Snohomish County ARPA Investments

Snohomish County has allocated $5 million from its American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) funds toward broadband efforts. The county is still in the process of determining how these investments will be prioritized. 

We are undertaking a gap analysis in 2022 and 2023 which will help identify where investments are needed to help guide our efforts moving forward.

broadband rural

BAT Stakeholders

Washington State Representative Sam Low -- 39th LD
Washington State Senator Keith Wagoner – 39th LD

Washington State Senator Ron Muzzall – 10th LD 

Washington State Representative Carolyn Eslick – 39th LD 

Washington State Representative Dave Paul – 10th LD 

Washington State Representative Clyde Shavers – 10th LD 

Washington State Broadband Office 

Washington State Department of Natural Resources 

City of Stanwood 

City of Monroe

Town of Darrington 

Town of Index 

City of Gold Bar 

Stanwood-Camano School District 

Darrington School District 

Lakewood School District 

Monroe School District 

Sultan School District 

Snohomish School District 

Lake Stevens School District 

Snohomish County PUD 

Port of Everett 

Economic Alliance Snohomish County 

Sno Isle Libraries 




WSU Snohomish County Extension 

League of Women Voters 

Glacier Peak Institute 

Evergreen Health Monroe/Sultan 

Snohomish Regional Fire and Rescue (FD 7) 

Snohomish Fire District 5 

Sky Valley Fire (FD 26) 

North County Fire/EMS