2021 Districting Committee

The 2021 Districting Committee completed its work and adjourned for the last time on Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2021. The Districting Committee's plan for county council districts was submitted to Council in early January of 2021 and approved by the County Council on Wednesday, Mar. 9, 2022.

Final ordinance and supporting documentation

About County Council Redistricting

The Snohomish County Redistricting Committee is drawing county council districts to reflect the 2020 Census data.  Every ten years boundaries of county council districts are updated to reflect how populations have changed.

State law requires that the plan for the redrawn council district boundaries be consistent with the following criteria:

  • Each internal director, council, or commissioner district shall be as nearly equal in population.
  • Each district shall be as compact as possible.
  • Each district shall consist of geographically contiguous area.
  • Population data may not be used for purposes of favoring or disfavoring any racial group or political party.
  • To the extent feasible, the district boundaries shall coincide with existing recognized natural boundaries
  • To the extent possible, the district boundaries shall preserve existing communities of related and mutual interest.

Snohomish County Charter sections 4.60 and 4.70 outline the process by which the council districts are to be redrawn.  The process outlined is as follows:

  • The council appoints four members to a districting committee, two from each of the largest major political party.
  • The four council-appointed members select a fifth member to serve as chair.
  • The districting committee selects a districting master who is qualified to redraw the district lines consistent with the legal criteria.
  • The districting master draws the districting plan.
  • The districting committee holds a public hearing on the districting plan.
  • The districting committee adopts the submitted or amended districting plan, with any amendments requiring four affirmative votes.
  • The districting committee files the plan with the county council.
  • The county council adopts the submitted or amended plan, with any amendments requiring four affirmative votes.  Amendments are also limited to include no more than 1% of the population in any district.

Redistricting Timeline

Council Districting Timeline

2021 Districting Committee Members

Kurt Hilt (Chair)

Jim Langston (Republican Appointee)

Hillary Moralez  (Democrat Appointee)

Bill Phillips (Democrat Appointee)

Sid Roberts (Republican Appointee)

Regular Meeting Schedule

The Districting Committee met Wednesdays at 4:00 p.m.  Meetings were be held online and open to the public via Zoom.

Regular Meeting Agenda includes:

  1. Call to Order
  2. Approval of the Agenda
  3. Approval of Minutes
  4. Chair's Report
  5. Old Business
  6. New Business
  7. Committee Comments, Questions and Suggestions
  8. Adjourn

Agendas and Meeting Minutes

Video and minutes are available following approval under Available Archives | 2021 | Miscellaneous.