Access Court Records
Most court records are public records and available for public viewing at no cost in the Clerk’s Office during business hours.
Court records defined by law, court rules, or individual court ordered sealed, confidential, or otherwise restricted from public access are not accessible unless permitted by law, court rule or court order. If you have legal authorization or a court order to access a confidential or sealed court record, a valid government picture ID is required. Court records are not subject to the Washington State Public Records Act.
Copies of documents, recordings and other court records are available for purchase pursuant to the Clerk’s Fee Schedule. We do not accept requests for printed or recorded court records over the phone. They must be ordered online, requested by mail or in person.
The following options are available for requesting or accessing court case information and copies of court case documents/records:
On April 29th, 2022, the Administrative Office of the Courts discovered a security issue that they are investigating. In an abundance of caution, they have disabled anonymous access to the Odyssey Portal. There is no ETA on when anonymous user access to Odyssey Portal will be available. More details will be provided as we learn more. Case information is available in our office, by phone at 425-388-3466, or through email at email@example.com.
Washington State Digital Archives
Click here to purchase Snohomish County Superior Court records online through the Washington State Digital Archives. You must have your case number.
Odyssey Portal Subscription
If you are a frequent user, an annual fee-based subscription service to access the Clerk’s Electronic Court Records Management System (Odyssey Portal) is available.Click here for more information.
If you would like to search publicly available Snohomish County Superior Court case information only, you may do so at no cost using Odyssey Portal - Washington Courts Online Case Search or by visiting the Clerk’s Office.
The public access area located at the Clerk’s office in Room M-206 offers customers the option to view publicly available court records for free.
To print documents, there is a charge of $.25 per page for regular copies. Certified copies of documents cost $5.00 for the first page and $1.00 for each additional page. Records requests can also be saved onto a CD, rather than printing. The cost for this option is $20 for the CD and then $.25 per page and a mailing fee of $2.50 per CD.
We accept payment via debit/credit card (with valid photo ID), cash, cashier’s check or money order. Personal checks are not accepted.
Please mail a completed Copy Request Form to the Clerk’s Office specifying the case information and documents that you want to purchase. Make sure to include a daytime phone number and/or email address where we can contact you if we have any questions and a self-addressed stamped envelope to return the documents in.
The cost for printed documents is $.25 per page for regular copies. Certified copies of documents cost $5.00 for the first page and $1.00 for each additional page. Records requests can also be saved onto a CD, rather than printing. The cost for this option is $20 for a CD and then $.25 per page and a mailing fee of $2.50 per CD.
If you do not know the number of pages/documents for your request, please contact the Clerk’s Customer Service division at firstname.lastname@example.org or 425-388-3466.
When requesting copies by mail, you must include the case number and party information. Payment in the form of a cashier’s check or money order payable to Snohomish County Clerk (personal checks are not accepted) and a self-addressed stamped envelope sufficient to cover the return postage of the requested documents must also be included with the request.
Requests will be mailed out once payment has been received in full.
CDs of Recorded Hearings:
Court hearings may be reported by a traditional court reporter or recorded electronically. The court minutes for the hearing will indicate the method of reporting or recording.
If a court reporter was present at the court hearing, the court reporter is the only person available to prepare a verbatim transcript of the reported proceeding. To obtain a transcript from a court reporter, contact Superior Court Administration.
To request a copy of a hearing that was recorded, please complete the Recorded Hearing Request Form. The completed form can be mailed in with the appropriate payment in the form of a cashier’s check or money order payable to Snohomish County Clerk (personal checks are not accepted) or you can bring the completed form to the Clerk’s Office, located in Room M-206.
Efforts will be made to have these requests available within 10 business days from the date received. The expense of searching for and duplicating the applicable proceeding is $25 per request pursuant to RCW 36.18.016(13). Completed requests can be picked up in the Clerk’s Office or mailed back to the requestor for an additional fee of $2.50 per CD.
Historical or exceptional searches require research by our staff. Most cases that occurred prior to 1978 will require research. If you are unsure whether your request will require research, please contact our office at 425-388-3466 to confirm. To request research, complete the Research Request Form. Per RCW 36.18.016, the fee for this service is $30.00 per hour. You can complete the request in our office or you can mail the request along with payment in the form of money order or cashier's check made payable to Snohomish County Clerk. You may be contacted for additional sums if your request exceeds the funds originally collected. Requests will be mailed or available for pick-up once payment has been made in full. Please allow 10 business days for requests to be processed and ready for pick-up or mailing.
- What do I do if I don’t know my case number?
- I need help finding a case. What information do I need to provide the Clerk’s Office to locate the case?
- How can I obtain a copy of a hearing or document if my case is sealed?
- What gives the Clerk the authority to charge fees for copies and duplicated hearing requests?