Native Growth Protection Areas (NGPAs) and Critical Area Protection Areas (CAPAs)

NGPAs and CAPAs are areas with critical areas, buffers, or both, which are permanently protected. Critical areas include wetlands, lakes, streams, rivers, and geologically hazardous areas. NGPA/CAPAs are established through the process of permitting development on properties with critical areas and their buffers. These designations help protect the areas around these critical areas, which helps to prevent the loss of the functions and values that these areas provide and to protect life and property.

Areas protected prior to 2007 are referred to as NGPA and areas protected more recently are referred to as CAPA. NGPAs and CAPAs can occur both on multi-residence developments and single-lot developments. 

Navigate through the sections below to learn more about your NGPA/CAPA!

NGPA Page Icons - FAQ rectangle Opens in new window  NGPA Page Icons - Planning rectangle Opens in new window

NGPA Page Icons - Reporting rectangle Opens in new window  NGPA Page Icons - Site Visit Free rectangle Opens in new window

Contact Information

  1. Permitting & Regulations
  2. Reporting Violations & Pollution
  3. NGPA Management & Restoration
Snohomish County Planning & Development Services (PDS)

Phone: 425-388-3311 


Online Form: Ask Permit Tech

Many common questions about NGPA/CAPA regulations are answered in the FAQ section of this webpage.