Concealed Pistol Licenses
A NEW LOOK FOR CPLs! Effective 8/26/2019
The Snohomish County Sheriff’s Office has implemented a new CPL to replace the old, paper license. As of August 26, 2019, CPLs in Snohomish County are now printed on plastic cards, similar to a driver’s license. This is an example of the new Snohomish County-issued CPL:
Who is eligible for a CPL
Applicants must be Snohomish County residents or out-of-state residents. Washington residents who live outside of Snohomish County must apply at their local Sheriff’s Office. City residents may apply to the local law enforcement agency (police department) in the jurisdiction where they reside. Applicants unsure of where to apply can find locate their law enforcement agency using the county's Law Enforcement Look-up page.
Any applicant convicted of a felony cannot have a permit unless their rights have been restored by the appropriate court. Other conditions that may prevent the ability to obtain a CPL are listed in RCW 9.41.070.
How to apply for, renew or replace a CPL
- Online (https://snohomishwa.permitium.com/ccw/start)
- In-person applications are accepted at the Snohomish County Courthouse and Sheriff’s Office precincts. North, South and East Precinct CPL services are provided by appointment only (see sidebar for precinct locations). The Courthouse location also accepts appointments online. However walk-in service is also available. For walk-in service at the County Courthouse, please plan to arrive by 3:30 pm. Without an appointment, services are offered on a "first come, first served" basis. Please be advised if you arrive after 3:30 pm, we may not be able to accept your application until the next business day.
CPL renewals: You may not apply until 90 days prior to the expiration date shown on your current CPL.
CPL late renewals: Applications will be accepted up to 90 days after the expiration date shown on the current CPL.
If your CPL is lost, stolen or destroyed, you may apply for a replacement regardless of where your CPL was originally issued. You can also apply for a replacement if you'd like to have the new Snohomish County CPL card.
What to bring
Applicants must provide one of the following state or federally issued photo identification:
- A current driver’s license
- A current Washington state identification card
- Military identification card
- A current passport
- Law enforcement identification
- Additional required documentation (if applicable):
- Permanent resident card (green card)
- Alien Firearms License
When will I receive my permit?
In accordance with RCW 9.41.070, a CPL will be issued to an eligible person residing in this state within 30 days after the submission of an application. If the applicant does not have a valid Washington state driver's license or Washington state identification card or has not been a resident of Washington for the previous consecutive ninety days, the CPL will be issued within 60 days after the submission of an application.
If you submitted your CPL application on-line, you will be notified when your CPL is available for pick-up. Valid photo identification is required for pick-up. If you submitted your CPL application in person and presented valid photo identification, you will be notified when your CPL has been mailed.
Washington has reciprocity for concealed pistol licenses issued by certain other states, so long as the handgun is carried in accordance with Washington law. The Washington State Attorney General's website provides a list of those states that have reciprocity with Washington for concealed pistol licenses.
Alien Firearms Licenses
The Department of Licensing has additional application information for resident aliens living in Washington State who wish to apply for a firearms license.
Please refer to our "Fees for Services" page.
For credit card transactions, a nominal credit card transaction fee and an on-line convenience fee will be charged for each transaction. These charges are non-refundable and will be visible prior to transaction completion. Credit card transaction services are provided by a third party vendor and the Sheriff's Office only collects the fees in accordance with the Washington State statute.
In accordance with RCW 9.41.070 (5), RCW 9.41.070 (6) and RCW 9.41.070 (7), fees associated with applying for a CPL are non-refundable. In the event that you cancel your application, do not pick-up your license, or if you are found to be ineligible to lawfully possess a CPL/firearm, you will not receive a refund.