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‘General Information

\ \ Contact the Assessor's Office

Q: What does the County Assessor do?

A: Washington State law requires Assessors to appraise
property at 100 percent of its “true and fair market value” in
money according to the “highest and best use” of the
property. The Assessor also sets the levy rates based on
taxing district budget requests, statutory limits and property
values. NOTE: Each January the Assessor mails out
Personal Property Listing forms, which are due April 30",
Listings may also be E-Filed. E-File, assessed value history
and tax history are available on our website at
www.snohomishcountywa.gov/Assessor.

‘ Personal Property Tax Exemptions

Q: What exemptions are available for
business owners and personal property?

A: Washington State provides the following exemptions
for personal property tax:

e Head of Family Exemption: $15,000 of assessed
value for persons who qualify as Head of Family and
complete the Head of Family Exemption on their
timely filed Personal Property Listing Form (only one
exemption per person statewide per year). To qualify
the business must be a sole proprietor or sole
beneficiary of a Trust. LLCs, Partnerships and
Corporations do not qualify.

e Licensed vehicles designed for regular public road
use, that are actually used for transportation on public
roads.

e Intangible property (goodwill, trademarks, patents,
copyrights, etc.)

e Farm Machinery & Equipment Exemption:
Qualifying farm machinery & equipment (timely
completion and filing of Farm Exemption with the
Personal Property Listing form is required).

e Custom software designed exclusively for
taxpayer.

the

Please contact us at 425-388-3433 or visit us at the 15t floor of
the Customer Service Center (CSC) in the Robert J. Drewel
Building (Admin-EAST), located at 3000 Rockefeller Ave., in
Everett for general information on exemption programs, filing
destroyed property claims or information on special
classifications. For personal property questions, see below.

Contact the Assessor's Personal Property Department |

Q: Who should | contact for more information about filing
Personal Property Listings or its assessed value?

A: If you have questions regarding filing your personal
property or disagree with the assessed value, please call our
Personal Property Appraisal Department at 425-388-3656
or email contact.personalproperty@snoco.org. Staff will be
glad to answer your questions and examine the valuation of
the personal property.

Appealing your Assessed Value to the Board of
Equalization

Q: Can | appeal my assessed value?

A: Yes. |If you do not agree with the value set by the
Assessor, you can file a petition for a hearing before the
Snohomish County Board of Equalization (BOE). The petition
must be filed with the BOE within 60 days of when the value
notice was mailed or by July 15t whichever is later. The
appeal process does not require an attorney, but you will
need to present evidence that the Assessor's value is
incorrect. Appeal forms are available from the Clerk of the
Board at 425-388-3407 or at

www.snohomishcountywa.gov/DocumentCenter/View/35533.

Q: Can | appeal the amount of taxes | will pay or the
percentage that my assessment increased or decreased?

A: No. The Board of Equalization cannot consider appeals on
this basis. If you have concerns over the amount of taxes you
are paying, you need to take them up with the taxing district
officials who determine the budgets for their districts. You can
also work for efficiency in government by attending budget
hearings and calling or writing the taxing authorities with your
concerns and ideas. Please refer to your local phonebook for
contact names and numbers of each taxing district.

Important information continued on reverse


http://www.snohomishcountywa.gov/assessor
http://www.snohomishcountywa.gov/Assessor
http://www.snohomishcountywa.gov/DocumentCenter/View/35533
http://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://i00.i.aliimg.com/img/pb/989/721/838/838721989_951.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.alibaba.com/product-detail/Drawing-table-Height-adjustable-drawing-table_1222421846.html&h=480&w=660&tbnid=LEKlq-9EThsptM:&zoom=1&docid=_QHUgRk7HgAvuM&ei=5ogIVJWPJ8GBiwLl2IGAAw&tbm=isch&ved=0CD8QMyg3MDc4yAE&iact=rc&uact=3&dur=719&page=6&start=249&ndsp=55

| How will this new value affect my taxes?

Q: How much will my taxes increase or decrease in 20177

A: Information on how much you will pay in property taxes
next year won’t be available until the taxing districts adopt
their budgets at the end of this year and any voter approved
taxes are added or dropped in 2017. In early 2017 levy rates
will be calculated and tax statements will be available. New
tax amounts are usually available from the County Treasurer’s
office in February of each year.

Please visit us at:
www.snohomishcountywa.gov/DocumentCenter/View/13804

for detailed information regarding tax distributions.

Q: What percentage of my taxes are voter approved?

A: This year the typical amount of voter approved taxes
was 42% to 47%.

Last year, 4 of 6 ballot measures were approved by voters.
Your assessed value determines your share of the taxes to be
collected which are: voter approved taxes plus the amount
levied each year by each individual taxing district allowed by
law without going to a vote of the people.

Q: How are my taxes calculated?
A: Property taxes in WA State are budget based.

Each individual taxing district, such as cities, county, schools,
fire, library, ports, etc., decides how much money to levy or
budget each year for their regular levies, voter approved
levies or both.

Regular levies are limited to a 1% increase annually without
going to a vote of the people. There are several different limits
on how levies can increase.

For detailed information on levies view our levy presentation
at:

http://www.snohomishcountywa.gov/333/Levy

Your share of the tax is determined by a simple formula:

e Taxes to be collected for the district divided by the total
assessed value of a district times 1000 = the levy rate.

e The levy rate times the assessed value divided by 1000 =
the taxes owed.

Q: When will my 2015 personal property equipment
changes affect my assessed value and taxes?

A: Changes (such as disposals or the addition of assets)
that occur in 2015 will be used to set the Jan. 1st, 2016
assessments which will be used to calculate taxes due in
2017.

WA State law requires assessors to assess property
according to the property tax calendar. This law applies
whether markets are increasing or decreasing. The following
calendar of events helps explain this lag:

e New assessment notices will be mailed in September
2016 after revaluation & new construction are done.

e After notices are mailed, property owners have 60 days to
appeal their value with the Board of Equalization.

e Taxing districts receive their certified assessed values in
October and set their budgets in Nov. or Dec. 2016. They
may or may not also ask voters to approve ballot
measures in 2016 that will affect taxes due in 2017.

e Levies are calculated in Jan. 2017 using the Jan. 1t 2016
certified assessed values for revaluation and the July 31,
2016 certified values for new construction. Tax
statements will be mailed by the Treasurer in Feb. 2017
for taxes due in Aprii  and October 2017.

2016 Property Taxes - $1,086,231,239|
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IMPORTANT:

Please read the back side of the Assessor's Personal Property Assessment
Notice for additional information.
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