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‘General Information

\ \ Contact the Assessor's Office \

Q: What does the County Assessor do?

A: Washington State law requires Assessors to appraise
property at 100 percent of its “true and fair market value” in
money according to the “highest and best use” of the property.
The Assessor also sets the levy rates based on taxing district
budget requests, statutory limits and property values.

NOTE: Market sales, assessed value history and tax history
are available on our website at:
www.snohomishcountywa.gov/Assessor.

Please contact us at 425-388-3433 or visit us at the 15t floor of
the Customer Service Center (CSC) in the Robert J. Drewel
Building (Admin-EAST), located at 3000 Rockefeller Ave., in
Everett for more information on exemption programs, filing
destroyed property claims or information on special
classifications.

Contact the Assessor's Office Appraisal Department |

Property Tax Relief Programs for:
Seniors and Disabled Persons

Q: What tax relief programs are available
for lower income seniors and disabled
persons?

A: Senior Citizen/Disabled Person Exemption Program: If
you own and occupy a residence or mobile home and were 61
or older by December 31, 2015 OR are retired because of
disability you may qualify for an exemption or a reduction of
your 2016 property tax. The total combined, gross household
income limit (including social security and/or disability
payments) for the program is $40,000 or less. For determining
eligibility we must use your total combined income, which is
your household income from ANY source, less veterans'
disability, survivors' dependency or indemnity compensation.
This is NOT the same as the “taxable income” used for federal
income tax purposes.

Also available is a Senior Citizen or Disabled Persons Tax
Deferral Program. To qualify you must be 60 years of age or
disabled from working, with a gross income less than $45,000.
The State of Washington will pay your property taxes, which
must be re-paid upon the transfer of ownership, if the property
is no longer your primary residence or upon death of the
applicant. A lien is placed on the property.

Q: | already have a senior citizen or disabled person
exemption and my taxable value is “frozen”, will the new
assessment affect my taxes?

A: Individuals qualifying for a Senior Citizen or Disabled
Persons exemption are taxed on either the market value of the
property on the date of qualification (“Frozen Value”) or on the
New Market Value whichever value is lower. Annual changes
in levy rates may affect your taxes.

Q: Who should I contact for more information about my
assessed value?

A: If you have questions regarding your property or disagree
with the assessed value, please call our Residential Appraisal
Department at 425-388-6555 or our Commercial Appraisal
Department at 425-388-3390. Staff will be glad to answer your
guestions and examine the valuation of the property.

Appealing your Assessed Value to the Board of
Equalization

Q: Can | appeal my assessed value?

A: Yes. If you do not agree with the value set by the Assessor,
you can file a petition for a hearing before the Snohomish
County Board of Equalization (BOE). The petition must be filed
with the BOE within 60 days of when the value notice was
mailed or by July 15' whichever is later. The appeal process
does not require an attorney, but you will need to present
evidence that the Assessor’s value is incorrect. Appeal forms
are available from the Clerk of the Board at 425-388-3407 or
at

www.snohomishcountywa.gov/DocumentCenter/View/35533

Q: Can | appeal the amount of taxes | will pay or the
percentage that my assessment increased or decreased?

A: No. The Board of Equalization cannot consider appeals on
this basis. If you have concerns over the amount of taxes you
are paying, you need to contact the taxing district officials who
determine the budgets for their districts. You can also work for
efficiency in government by attending budget hearings and
calling or writing the taxing authorities with your concerns and
ideas. Please refer to the web or your local phonebook for
contact information of each taxing district.
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| How will this new value affect my taxes?

Q: How much will my taxes increase or decrease in 2017?

A: Information on how much you will pay in property taxes next
year won't be available until the taxing districts adopt their
budgets at the end of this year and any voter approved taxes
are added or dropped in 2017. In early 2017 levy rates will be
calculated and tax statements will be available. New tax
amounts are usually available from the County Treasurer's
office in February of each year. Please visit us at:
www.snohomishcountywa.gov/AssessorAnnualReports

for detailed information regarding tax rates and distributions.

Q: What percentage of my taxes are voter approved?

A: This year the typical amount of voter approved taxes
was 42% to 47%.

Last year, 4 of 6 ballot measures were approved by voters.
Your assessed value determines your share of the taxes to be
collected which are: voter approved taxes plus the amount
levied each year by each individual taxing district allowed by
law without going to a vote of the people.

Q: How are my taxes calculated?
A: Property taxes in Washington State are budget based.

Each individual taxing district, such as cities, county, schools,
fire, library, ports, etc., decides how much money to levy or
budget each year for their regular levies, voter approved levies
or both.

Regular levies are limited to a 1% increase annually without
going to a vote of the people. There are several different limits
on how levies can increase.

For detailed information on levies view our levy presentation
at: http://www.snohomishcountywa.gov/Levy

Your share of the tax is determined by a simple formula:

e Taxes to be collected for the district divided by the total
assessed value of a district times 1000 = the levy rate.

e The levy rate times the assessed value divided by 1000 =
the taxes owed.

Q: When will the 2015 sales affect my assessed values and
taxes?

A: Sales that occurin 2015 will be used to set the January
1st, 2016 assessments which will be used to calculate
taxes due in 2017. Washington State law requires assessors
to assess property according to the property tax calendar. This
law applies whether the real estate market is increasing or
decreasing. The following calendar of events helps explain this
lag:

e New assessment notices will be mailed in June & Sept.

2016 after revaluation & new construction are complete.

e After notices are mailed, property owners have 60 days to
appeal their value with the Board of Equalization.

e Taxing districts receive their certified assessed values in
October and set their budgets in Nov. or Dec. 2015. They
may or may not also ask voters to approve ballot measures
in 2016 that will affect taxes due in 2017.

e Levies are calculated in Jan. 2017 using the Jan. 15t 2016
certified assessed values for revaluation and the July 31,
2016 certified values for new construction. Tax statements
will be mailed by the Treasurer in Feb. 2017 for taxes due
in April and October 2017.
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IMPORTANT:

Please read the back side of the Assessor's Notice of Value for additional
information about other exemption programs and special classifications
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