County Council

County Council 2015
Left to right: 
Brian Sullivan, District 2Stephanie Wright, District 3Ken Klein, District 1,          
Vice-Chair Terry Ryan, District 4, Council Chair Dave Somers, District 5

County Council
The Snohomish County Council is the legislative authority for the county. The five members of the council are elected to four-year terms. Each member represents a specific geographic district.

Council Duties
The council's duties include identifying and articulating the needs of the citizens of Snohomish County, and providing a framework for county administration to carry out its work efficiently, ensuring that county government responds effectively to the community's needs. The county council adopts and enacts ordinances, resolutions, and motions; levies taxes; appropriates revenue; and adopts budgets for the county. The council confirms nominations to county boards and commissions and has concurrent authority with the county executive to nominate members to the Snohomish County Planning Commission. The council also appoints the hearing examiner.